George RR Martin books: Which books has George RR Martin written? Full list

3 min

12 shares, 79 points

What books have George RR Martin written?

George RR Martin’s first story was The Hero, published in a sci-fi magazine in 1971.

From here, his science fiction works continued to be published, with his novella A Song for Lya winning the Hugo Award for Best Novella in 1975.

Martin later included this, plus others, in his short story collection of the same name.

His first full-length novel was called Dying of the Light in 1977, which takes place in the same universe as A Song for Lya as well as some of his later books, including Sandkings and Nightflyers.

The book, won the Hugo Award for Best Novel, with Martin’s works continuing to be lauded with praise throughout the 1970s.

Countdown blunder: Rachel Riley's huge mistake after replacing Carol Vorderman exposed

Which books has George RR Martin’s written? (Image: Getty)

Martin had a foray into young adult fiction with his novella The Ice Dragon in 1980, which eventually formed part of a fantasy anthology series called Dragons of Light.

His next solo novel was Fevre Dream, which was a vampire story released in 1982, before he wrote murder-mystery novel The Armageddon Rag in 1983.

The first book to come from the A Song of Ice and Fire series would not be for a long while yet, with A Game of Thrones being written in 1996.

From this point, much of Martin’s solo output comes from the world of Westeros, though he has edited and written short stories in collaboration with other writers which have strayed outside of this world.

As well as the A Song of Fire and Ice series, which comprises five books with two more expected, Martin has dedicated time to framing the stories of those characters with accompanying books.

His Tales of Dunk and Egg series of novellas, for example, comprises prequel and historical information about the world of the A Song of Ice and Fire novels.

He has written other standalone prequels such as 2014’s The Rogue Prince and 2017’s The Sons of the Dragon and 2018’s Fire and Blood, all of which are centred in the world of the A Song of Ice and Fire series.

This series begins with A Game of Thrones and continues with A Clash of Kings (1998); A Storm of Swords (2000); A Feast for Crows (2005) and A Dance with Dragons (2011).

There are two more novels being written, the first is The Winds of Winter, which Martin has said he is writing while in coronavirus lockdown, while the second is A Dream of Spring, which has no specified release date.

As well as these books, Martin has worked a great deal on the TV series these books have spawned and is acting as a producer on the upcoming series House of the Dragon, which is based on Fire and Blood.

Countdown blunder: Rachel Riley's huge mistake after replacing Carol Vorderman exposed

George RR Martin (Image: Getty)

Here is the full list of George RR Martin’s works:

The Hero, 1971

The Second Kind of Loneliness, 1972

Override, 1973

A Song for Lya, 1974

And Seven Times Never Kill Man, 1975

The Lonely Songs of Laren Dorr, 1976

A Song for Lya (short story collection), 1976

Nobody Leaves New Pittsburg, 1976

This Tower of Ashes, 1976

Dying of the Light, 1977

Songs of Stars and Shadows, 1977

Sandkings, 1979

The Way of Cross and Dragon, 1979

The Ice Dragon, 1980

Nightflyers, 1980

Countdown blunder: Rachel Riley's huge mistake after replacing Carol Vorderman exposed

George RR Martin with a Primetime Emmy (Image: Getty)

Windhaven (written with Lisa Tuttle), 1981

Sandkings (short story collection), 1981

Fevre Dream, 1982

In the Lost Lands, 1982

Songs the Dead Men Sing, 1983

The Armageddon Rag, 1983

Nightflyers (short story collection), 1985

Heroes for Hope (comic book fundraiser), 1985

Tuf Voyaging, 1986

The Glass Flower, 1986

Portraits of His Children, 1987

The Skin Trade, 1989

A Game of Thrones, 1996

The Hedge Knight, 1998

A Clash of Kings Novel, 1998

A Storm of Swords, 2000

Countdown blunder: Rachel Riley's huge mistake after replacing Carol Vorderman exposed

Arya Stark in Game of Thrones (Image: HBO)

Quartet, 2001

GRRM: A RRetrospective, 2003

The Sworn Sword, 2003

A Feast for Crows, 2005

Hunter’s Run (with Gardner Dozois and Daniel Abraham), 2007

The Mystery Knight, 2010

A Dance with Dragons, 2011

The Wit and Wisdom of Tyrion Lannister, 2013

The Princess and the Queen, 2013

The Rogue Prince, 2014

The World of Ice & Fire (with Elio M. García Jr. and Linda Antonsson), 2014

The Ice Dragon (reworked version), 2014

A Knight of the Seven Kingdoms, 2015

The Sons of the Dragon, 2017

Fire & Blood, 2018

The Winds of Winter, TBC

A Dream of Spring, TBC

Like it? Share with your friends!

12 shares, 79 points

What's Your Reaction?

hate hate
confused confused
fail fail
fun fun
geeky geeky
love love
lol lol
omg omg
win win

Read exclusive latest news on entertainment, music, gaming and more topics with unprecedented coverage from around the UK and US.


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.