Joe Root and Ben Stokes find out fate in The Hundred as team names and colours announced

2 min

15 shares, 95 points
Joe Root and Ben Stokes find out fate in The Hundred as team names and colours announced 1

The Hundred is a brand new cricket competitions coming to the UK, and will start in July 2020.

England captain Joe Root and Ben Stokes have discovered their fate in the competition, as the team names and colours are revealed.

Joe Root will play for the Trent Rockets, alongside Alex Hales.

Ben Stokes was selected by the Northern Superchargers, who also picked Adil Rashid.

The team names have been announced as London Spirit, Nothern Superchargers, Manchester Originals, Trent Rockets, Birmingham Phoenix, Welsh Fire, Oval Invincibles, and Southern Brave.

The Hundred team names and players

London Spirit – Rory Burns, Eoin Morgan, Dan Lawrence, Heather Knight and Freya Davis

Northern Superchargers – Ben Stokes, David Willey and Adil Rashid, Lauren Winfield and Linsey Smith

Manchester Originals – Jos Buttler, Saqib Mahmood and Matt Parkinson, Sophie Eccleston and Kate Cross

Trent Rockets – Joe Root, Alex Hales and Harry Gurney, Katherin Brunt and Nat Sciver

Birmingham Phoenix – Chris Woakes, Moeen Ali and Pat Brown, Amy Jones and Kirstie Gordon

Welsh Fire – Jonny Bairstow, Tom Banton, Colin Ingram, Bryony Smith and Katie George

Oval Invincibles – Sam Curran, Tom Curran, Jason Roy, Fran Wilson and Laura Marsh

Southern Brave – Jofra Archer, Chris Jordan and James Vince, Anya Shrubsole and Danni Wyatt

The Hundred team colours

The team’s colours have also been announced. All of the teams were sponsored by a different KP Snacks brand, in their role as official team partner.

Birmingham Phoenix, which features Moeen Ali and Amy Jones will play in a light orange strip with a dark orange pattern.

London Spirit, made up of England heroes Heather Knight and Eoin Morgan, will play in blue.

Manchester Originals will play in black. Jos Buttler and Kate Cross were selected to play in their team.

The Northern Superchargers selected Stokes and Lauren Winfield, and they’ll be playing in purple.

Oval Invincibles picked juggernaut Jason Roy, Laura Marsh and the Curran brothers. They’ll be playing in a pale green strip.

Jofra Archer and Danni Wyatt were selected for Southern Brave, who will play in green and black.

Trent Rockets managed to pick England captain Root and Nat Scrivener. Their strip will be yellow with a red pattern.

Finally, Welsh Fire, featuring Jonny Bairstow and Katie George will play in red and pink.

What is The Hundred?

The Hundred is a brand new format of cricket, to be played alongside the standard county cricket.

It’s designed to be more fast-paced and have a higher intensity than other formats of the game, with both teams having to face just 100 deliveries.

The bowling team can decide to bowl either five-ball overs or 10-ball overs, and they’ll also have a ‘time-out’, that they can use at any point in the innings.

The teams had the option of selecting their first players this week, made up of England men’s and women’s central contract players.

They also chose a ‘Local Icon’, based on their location in the UK, and where the players play with their respective counties.

The final stage of The Hundred sees the teams select players in an NFL-style Draft. The Draft will be staged on Sunday October 20.

The Hundred is a five-week competition, starting in July 2020. The teams will play at their respective grounds. Manchester, Leeds, Nottingham, Birmingham, Cardiff, Southampton, Lord’s and the Oval will all host matches.

Like it? Share with your friends!

15 shares, 95 points

What's Your Reaction?

hate hate
confused confused
fail fail
fun fun
geeky geeky
love love
lol lol
omg omg
win win

Read exclusive latest news on entertainment, music, gaming and more topics with unprecedented coverage from around the UK and US.


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.