Home Science Lunar eclipse 2020: When and where can you see this week's Buck...

Lunar eclipse 2020: When and where can you see this week's Buck Moon eclipse?

When is the Buck Moon eclipse?

The lunar eclipse will unfold over the night of July 4 and July 5, passing through the nightside of Earth.

Eclipsing will start at 4.07am BST (11.07pm EDT) and wrap up by 6.52am BST (1.52am EDT).

When viewed from London for example, stargazers will catch a glimpse at about 4.41am BST – the moment of maximum eclipse – before the Moon then sets at 4.45am BST.

But keep in mind this will be a very subtle eclipse, caused by the Full Moon passing through Earth’s weaker – penumbral – shadow.

At the height of the eclipse, less than half of the Moon will pass through the penumbra.

- Advertisement -

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

- Advertisment -
%d bloggers like this: