Home Sports NASCAR All-Star Race results: Chase Elliott cruises to $1 million prize at...

NASCAR All-Star Race results: Chase Elliott cruises to $1 million prize at Bristol

NASCAR All-Star Race results: Chase Elliott cruises to $1 million prize at Bristol 1

Chase Elliott’s NASCAR All-Star Race victory Wednesday evening had the backdrop of much on-track experimentation for the sport and a high-risk social distancing tightrope in the stands. There was somewhere in the ballpark of 30,000 people on hand at Bristol Motor Speedway — by far the most of any major U.S. sport since the start of the COVID-19 pandemic.

The racing itself was straightforward, however, with Elliott dominating the field. He won Stages 2 and 3 before finishing the event on top. His prize was a cool $ 1 million.

Kyle Busch finished second, Kevin Harvick finished third, Brad Keselowski finished fourth and Denny Hamlin rounded out the top five.

A qualifying competition named the All-Star Open, plus a fan vote, determined the final four spots in the 20-entrant field. Those gave Aric Almirola, William Byron, Matt DiBenedetto and Clint Bowyer a chance to ride in the main event.

Bubba Wallace, meanwhile, wrecked in the Open and was not happy about it.

Sporting News tracked live race updates and lap-by-lap highlights from the 2020 NASCAR All-Star races at Bristol. Follow below for complete results.

MORE: Watch NASCAR racing live with fuboTV (7-day free trial)

NASCAR All-Star Race highlights from Chase Elliott’s win at Bristol

NASCAR All-Star Race results

10:13 p.m.: Elliott wins the 2020 NASCAR All-Star Race! He dominated after the opening stage.

10:11 p.m.: Ten laps to go to determine a winner.

- Advertisement -

10:02 p.m.: Elliott makes it two in a row, cruising to a Stage 3 win.

9:59 p.m.: Elliott still leads late in Stage 3. There are four stages in this event.

9:44 p.m.: Chase Elliott wins Stage 2. The lack of stage-by-stage incentive is a clear oversight in this All-Star format — there’s no monetary winning attached to the stages and it’s eating into the competitiveness of the event.

9:34 p.m.: Ryan Newman spins early in Stage 2.

9:22 p.m.: Blaney wins Stage 1.

9:20 p.m.: Ryan Blaney holds a slight edge through the first 40 laps.

9:08 p.m.: Keselowski collides with Kurt Busch.

9:05 p.m.: Green flag.

9:03 p.m.: Underglow lights are in effect.

- Advertisement -

8:48 p.m.: Things will be underway here soon.

8:05 p.m.: After a break between competitions, we’ll have the main event. Intros are slated for approximately 8:45 p.m.

NASCAR All-Star Open results

8:01 p.m.: Clint Bowyer gets the last spot via fan voting.

7:58 p.m.: Matt DiBenedetto wins the final stage and clinches a spot in the All-Star race. One more spot remains for the fan vote winner.

7:46 p.m.: Byron wins Stage 2.

7:28 p.m.: Aric Almirola wins Stage 1 and advances to the All-Star Race.

7:15 p.m.: Caution for Bubba Wallace.

7:10 p.m.: Green flag.

- Advertisement -

7:03 p.m.: Engines fired for the Open, which is a qualifier for the main event.

6:58 p.m.: Another look at the crowd.

6:45 p.m.: Here’s an early look at the stands. Emphasis on early, though, as many more people are supposed to show up.

MORE: Explaining the NASCAR All-Star Race format

NASCAR All-Star Race start time

  • Date: Wednesday, July 15
  •  Start time: 7 p.m. ET (Open) | 8:30 p.m. ET (All-Star Race)
  • TV channel: FS1
  • Live stream: Fox Sports Go | fuboTV (7-day free trial)

The first green flag of the night Wednesday will wave shortly after 7 p.m. ET for The Open, a quick qualifying race for those not yet locked into the All-Star field. The Open will feature stage lengths of 35, 35 and 15 laps. The winners of those three stages will earn spots in the back of the All-Star race field.

The All-Star Race itself has a start time of 8:30 p.m. ET and features stage lengths of 55, 35, 35 and 15 laps. Both green-flag and yellow-flag laps will count in Stages 1-3, with only green-flag laps counting in the final stage.

FS1’s NASCAR All-Star Race coverage will start at 6 p.m. ET.

MORE: How Bristol became the first big test for fans returning to U.S. sports venues

NASCAR All-Star Race starting lineup at Bristol

Drivers earned All-Star Race eligibility in three ways:

— Win a Cup Series points-paying race in 2019 or 2020. Cup Series rookie Cole Custer became eligible with his upset win Sunday at Kentucky. Justin Haley, a full-time driver in the Xfinity Series, gained entry with his win at Daytona last July.

— Win a Cup Series championship. Truex, Kevin Harvick, Matt Kenseth, Kurt Busch, Brad Keselowski, Kyle Busch, Joey Logano and Jimmie Johnson are the Cup champions in the All-Star Race field. 

— Win a past All-Star Race. Ryan Newman got in this way.

The draw for the starting lineup took place Monday. Below are the results:

StartDriverCar No.Team
1Martin Truex Jr.19Joe Gibbs Racing
2Alex Bowman88Hendrick Motorsports
3Ryan Blaney12Team Penske
4Justin Haley77Spire Motorsports
5Kevin Harvick4Stewart-Haas Racing
6Matt Kenseth42Chip Ganassi Racing
7Kurt Busch1Chip Ganassi Racing
8Cole Custer41Stewart-Haas Racing
9Brad Keselowski2Team Penske
10Kyle Busch18Joe Gibbs Racing
11Ryan Newman6Roush Fenway Racing
12Joey Logano22Team Penske
13Chase Elliott9Hendrick Motorsports
14Jimmie Johnson48Hendrick Motorsports
15Denny Hamlin11Joe Gibbs Racing
16Erik Jones20Joe Gibbs Racing
17Winner of Open Stage 1
18Winner of Open Stage 2
19Winner of Open Stage 3
20Fan Vote winner

NASCAR All-Star Open lineup at Bristol

The All-Star Open starting grid was determined similarly to how lineups for Cup Series races have been set since NASCAR’s return from its coronavirus pause. NASCAR is mostly using random draws while it proceeds without qualifying and practice sessions prior to races to limit time spent at the track amid the COVID-19 pandemic.

Below is the protocol for how the All-Star Open field was set at Bristol:

  • Positions 1-12: Random draw from the top 12 teams in owner points.
  • Positions 13-22: Random draw from the remaining teams.

The draw for the starting lineup took place Monday. Below are the results:

StartDriverCar No.Team
1Michael McDowell34Front Row Motorsports
2Aric Almirola10Stewart-Haas Racing
3Christopher Bell95Leavine Family Racing
4Ricky Stenhouse Jr.47JTG Daugherty Racing
5Tyler Reddick8Richard Childress Racing
6Bubba Wallace43Richard Petty Motorsports
7William Byron24Hendrick Motorsports
8Chris Buescher17Roush Fenway Racing
9Clint Bowyer14Stewart-Haas Racing
10Matt DiBenedetto21Wood Brothers Racing
11Austin Dillon3Richard Childress Racing
12Ryan Preece37JTG Daugherty Racing
13JJ Yeley27Rick Ware Racing
14Garrett Smithley53Rick Ware Racing
15Brennan Poole15Premium Motorsports
16Quin Houff00StarCom Racing
17Timmy Hill *66Motorsports Business Management
18Joey Gase51Petty Ware Racing
19Daniel Suarez96Gaunt Brothers Racing
20John Hunter Nemechek38Front Row Motorsports
21Ty Dillon13Germain Racing
22Corey LaJoie32Go Fas Racing

* Withdrawn from race.

- Advertisement -


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

- Advertisment -
%d bloggers like this: