Home Sports NASCAR at Talladega live race updates, results, highlights from the Geico 500

NASCAR at Talladega live race updates, results, highlights from the Geico 500

NASCAR at Talladega live race updates, results, highlights from the Geico 500 1

For the first time since the COVID-19 pandemic shut down live sports globally, a NASCAR Cup Series race is being run with generally admitted fans in the stands, albeit in limited numbers. This relative return to normalcy is happening at Talladega Superspeedway, NASCAR’s biggest and arguably its most exciting track.

Sunday’s race at Talladega also marks the first Cup Series event at a 2.5-mile superspeedway since the Daytona 500, which ended with Ryan Newman’s terrifying crash on the last lap. That accident led to some superspeedway-specific rule changes that are being implemented for the first time Sunday at Talladega.

Because Ford and specifically Team Penske have been so dominant at Talladega of late, Brad Keselowski and Joey Logano are among the favorites to win Sunday’s Geico 500. Also a popular pick to win is Chase Elliott, who took the victory in the spring race at Talladega last season.

Of course, picking the winner of a NASCAR Cup Series race at Talladega is the motorsports equivalent of throwing pegs at a dart board. The great equalizer that is pack racing should make for an exciting race that, with some speed and a little more luck, can be won by just about anybody.

- Advertisement -

Sporting News is tracking live lap-by-lap updates and highlights from Sunday’s NASCAR race at Talladega. Follow below for complete results from the Geico 500.

MORE: Watch today’s NASCAR race live with fuboTV (7-day free trial)

NASCAR at Talladega live updates, highlights from Geico 500

(The race at Talladega is scheduled to take the green flag at 3:24 p.m. ET.)

2:35 p.m. ET: Due to a lightning strike near the track, NASCAR puts a 30-minute hold on activity at Talladega. Here are some strong storms to the west of the track.

1:08 p.m. ET: NASCAR executive vice president Steve O’Donnell tweets a message in response to a massive Confederate flag banner with the words “Defund NASCAR” being flown by a plane over the track.

10:37 a.m. ET: Joe Gibbs Racing showcases a special paint scheme for Denny Hamlin’s No. 11 Toyota Camry. Courtesy of the team’s primary sponsor FedEx, the all-black look features the logo of the National Civil Rights Museum on the hood of the car.

8:44 a.m. ET: Brian Neudorff, a meteorologist who provides weather forecasts for NASCAR races, warns that there are expected to be scattered thunderstorms in the Talladega, Ala., area on Sunday that could impact the race.

What time does the NASCAR race start today?

The green flag for Sunday’s NASCAR Cup Series race at Talladega will wave shortly after 3 p.m. ET, but Fox’s TV coverage will begin at 2 p.m. ET. 

Talladega, Ala., is located in the Central Time Zone, so the race’s start time locally will be 2 p.m. ET. That’s notable considering Talladega Superspeedway does not have lights in the event the race is delayed.

MORE: Explaining NASCAR’s new rules package for Talladega

NASCAR starting lineup at Talladega

Here are the results from the draw for NASCAR’s starting lineup at Talladega:

Pos.DriverCar No.Team
1Martin Truex Jr.19Joe Gibbs Racing
2Denny Hamlin11Joe Gibbs Racing
3Kyle Busch18Joe Gibbs Racing
4Jimmie Johnson48Hendrick Motorsports
5Kevin Harvick4Stewart-Haas Racing
6Brad Keselowski2Team Penske
7Kurt Busch1Chip Ganassi Racing
8Alex Bowman88Hendrick Motorsports
9Joey Logano22Team Penske
10Clint Bowyer14Stewart-Haas Racing
11Chase Elliott9Hendrick Motorsports
12Ryan Blaney12Team Penske
13Matt Kenseth42Chip Ganassi Racing
14Ryan Newman6Roush Fenway Racing
15Aric Almirola10Stewart-Haas Racing
16Tyler Reddick8Richard Childress Racing
17Austin Dillon3Richard Childress Racing
18Erik Jones20Joe Gibbs Racing
19William Byron24Hendrick Motorsports
20Ricky Stenhouse Jr.47JTG Daugherty Racing
21Chris Buescher17Roush Fenway Racing
22John Hunter Nemechek38Front Row Motorsports
23Matt DiBenedetto21Wood Brothers Racing
24Bubba Wallace43Richard Petty Motorsports
25Corey LaJoie32Go Fas Racing
26Michael McDowell34Front Row Motorsports
27Brennan Poole15Premium Motorsports
28Cole Custer41Stewart-Haas Racing
29Gray Gaulding27Rick Ware Racing
30BJ McLeod77Spire Motorsports
31Ryan Preece37JTG Daugherty Racing
32Quin Houff00StarCom Racing
33Ty Dillon13Germain Racing
34JJ Yeley53Rick Ware Racing
35Christopher Bell95Leavine Family Racing
36Joey Gase51Petty Ware Racing
37Daniel Suarez96Gaunt Brothers Racing
38Timmy Hill66Motorsports Business Management
39Brendan Gaughan62Beard Motorsports
40Garrett Smithley78B.J. McLeod Motorsports
- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.