Home Sports NASCAR lineup at Charlotte: Starting order, pole for Coca-Cola 600

NASCAR lineup at Charlotte: Starting order, pole for Coca-Cola 600

NASCAR lineup at Charlotte: Starting order, pole for Coca-Cola 600 1

The Coca-Cola 600 is the only Cup Series race on NASCAR’s modified 2020 schedule for which the starting lineup is set by qualifying. Due to coronavirus-related restrictions on the amount of time drivers, teams and NASCAR officials can spend at the track, all other races on the schedule will play out without practice or qualifying.

So Sunday afternoon’s qualifying session at Charlotte Motor Speedway to set the starting lineup for the Coca-Cola 600 was the first such session for the Cup Series since March 7th, and it will be the only such session for the foreseeable future.

MORE COKE 600: Start time | TV channel | Odds to win

Qualifying for the Coca-Cola 600 took place just a few hours before the race, which is scheduled to start at 6 p.m. ET on Fox. Below are the results of that qualifying session, including the pole winner and the complete starting lineup for the Coca-Cola 600.

Who won the pole for the NASCAR Coca-Cola-600 at Charlotte?

Kurt Busch, one of the last few cars to roll off for his single qualifying lap Sunday afternoon, barely edged Jimmie Johnson for the Coca-Cola 600 pole.

Busch, who earned his 28th career pole, is one of six Chevrolets that will lead the field to the green flag in the Coca-Cola 600.

Johnson, Chase Elliott, Matt Kenseth, Tyler Reddick and Austin Dillon qualified in spots 2-6. Joey Logano (seventh) and Martin Truex Jr. (eighth) are the first Fords and Toyotas in the field, respectively.

MORE: NASCAR’s updated Cup schedule for 2020

NASCAR Coca-Cola 600 starting lineup at Charlotte

Below is the complete starting lineup for the Coca-Cola 600 at Charlotte Motor Speedway based on single-lap qualifying runs earlier in the day.

- Advertisement -

A couple notes note: Matt DiBenedetto smacked the wall coming off of Turn 4 in qualifying and will go to a backup car. He will have to drop to the back of the field before the start of the race. Aric Almirola qualified last because he spun out during his qualifying run. He will not go to a backup car for the race.

1Kurt Busch
2Jimmie Johnson
3Chase Elliott
4Matt Kenseth
5Tyler Reddick
6Austin Dillon
7Joey Logano
8Martin Truex Jr.
9Brad Keselowski
10William Byron
11Kyle Busch
12Alex Bowman
13Denny Hamlin
14Erik Jones
15Christopher Bell
16Ty Dillon
17Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
18Ryan Newman
19Chris Buescher
20Clint Bowyer
21Ross Chastain
22Kevin Harvick
23Bubba Wallace
24Corey LaJoie
25John Hunter Nemechek
26Ryan Blaney
27Michael McDowell
28Cole Custer
29Ryan Preece
30Quin Houff
31Gray Gaulding
32Timmy Hill
33Matt DiBenedetto
34J.J. Yeley
35Brennan Poole
36B.J. McLeod
37Daniel Suarez
38Garrett Smithley
39Joey Gase
40Aric Almirola
- Advertisement -


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

- Advertisment -