PS4 free games: Play at Home with Uncharted and Journey downloads in April

2 min

12 shares, 78 points

Countdown blunder: Rachel Riley's huge mistake after replacing Carol Vorderman exposed

Play at Home and get free PS4 games (Image: SONY)

Bored PS4 gamers looking for something new to do should check out Sony’s Play at Home Initiative. The tech giant has announced that they will be making a number of games free to play and download over the next four weeks as part of the new event. Sony says that its new Play At Home initiative is made up of two components; Providing free games to help keep the PlayStation community entertained, and establishing a fund to help smaller independent game studios.

This fund will be focused on studios who are experiencing financial difficulties and help them continue in their latest projects.

A message from Sony explains: “Independent developers are vital to the heart and soul of the gaming community and we understand the hardships and financial struggles that many smaller gaming studios are facing.

“With that, SIE has developed a fund to support them during this time. We have earmarked $ 10 million to support our independent development partners. More information about the fund, including participation criteria, will be made available soon.”


As mentioned above, Sony is making it possible to download the Uncharted Collection and Journey for free in April.

This is a limited-time event, meaning you have to download them by a certain time to be able to add them to your collection.

And the good news is that the Play at Home free games event will be kicking off very soon.

All of these PS4 games will be available to download and play from April 15 at 8pm PDT through May 5, 2020 at 8pm PDT.

And the best part is that once you redeem the games, they are yours to keep.

For gamers in the UK, this means that the new PS4 free games will be available to download at 4am on May 6.

“For most of you, Uncharted: The Nathan Drake Collection will need no introduction,” Sony adds.

“This three-game collection from the masters at Naughty Dog includes Uncharted: Drake’s Fortune, Uncharted 2: Among Thieves, and Uncharted 3: Drake’s Deception—all meticulously remastered for PS4.

“We can’t imagine a better time for globe-trotting adventures with Nathan Drake, an iconic cast of characters, and thrilling treasure-hunting action gameplay.

“Then there’s Journey, a beautiful, celebrated adventure that is as moving as it is mysterious. The game’s life-affirming message is timeless, and perhaps more important now than ever before.

“In alignment with SIE’s goal in preserving Internet access in the US and Europe, game downloads may take a little longer, but we appreciate the understanding from our community as we take these measures in an effort to preserve access for everyone.”

While both games will no doubt prove popular with fans, it should be noted that the Nathan Drake Collection does not include the multiplayer component of those titles.

Which is probably good news for Sony, as they are looking to keep download speeds and multiplayer servers online.

It should also be noted that gamers in Germany and China will have access to Knack 2 and Journey for free for the same limited time.

Like it? Share with your friends!

12 shares, 78 points

What's Your Reaction?

hate hate
confused confused
fail fail
fun fun
geeky geeky
love love
lol lol
omg omg
win win

Read exclusive latest news on entertainment, music, gaming and more topics with unprecedented coverage from around the UK and US.


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.