Home Gaming Rainbow Six Siege Year 5 roadmap and new Operator news for PS4...

Rainbow Six Siege Year 5 roadmap and new Operator news for PS4 and Xbox

Rainbow Six Siege Year 5 Operator news (Image: UBISOFT)

The Rainbow Six Siege Year 5 Roadmap has been confirmed this week by Ubisoft and includes some surprise elements for PS4 and Xbox One gamers. As many fans will already know, the next operation will be called Void Edge, and will consist of two new Operators, a map rework, and a host of gameplay updates. Gamers are expecting the new Operators – Oryx and Iana – to be available to play the week of March 9, following the news that they would testable on February 17.

- Advertisement -

Void Edge will come packaged with the revamped Oregon map, which is one of the original Rainbow Six Siege levels.

This new update would refresh the layout and create more strategic opportunities for attacking and defending bomb sites.

“The small office tower has been expanded on both levels, giving Defenders more room to work with when keeping Attackers at bay,” a message from Ubisoft explains.

“The basement area has also grown, with the kids’ dorm stairs now extending down one level and connecting through a new freezer section to the old basement.

“Operators looking to traverse the attic connector above the meeting hall will have more options, including a redesigned floorplan near the master bedroom and a new exterior second-floor window, but the ladder to the first floor has been removed. There will also be a new hallway connecting the big tower directly to the kitchen, allowing players to bypass the meeting room entirely.”

But this week’s Rainbow Six Siege Year 5 Roadmap reveal confirmed a lot more than the usual operator news.

Ubisoft has confirmed that they will be changing the format of Rainbow Six Siege, which will mean less new Operators in the future.

Instead, existing Operators will be reworked, beginning with Tachanka and followed by others in later seasons.

Ubisoft has also confirmed that each season will include a new Rainbow Six Siege Battle Pass.

A message from Ubisoft confirms: “The first two seasons of Year 5 will keep the current format, with each season bringing two new Operators and a map rework.

“After that, however, the six subsequent seasons will each introduce one new Operator, a map rework, a limited-time event, and major gameplay updates. Beginning with Operation Void Edge, each season will also introduce a Battle Pass, offering players a new way to earn rewards.

“The planned gameplay changes will include fundamental updates that will affect all players, with priorities that include expanding player agency and getting players more invested in the preparation and support phases.

- Advertisement -

“Some of the planned changes announced so far include adding more secondary gadgets for all Operators; implementing a smart ping system designed to improve communication, especially for players who don’t use voice chat; adding a map ban option; and a new Reputation system that rewards or sanctions players based on their in-game behavior.

“Year 5 will also begin delivering major reworks of existing Operators, beginning with Tachanka and followed by others in later seasons.

“Following in the footsteps of Road to SI and Rainbow is Magic, Years 5 and 6 will also feature one major, themed in-game event per season, each of which will offer a distinct shift in gameplay.

“Weekend-only Arcade Playlists are coming as well, beginning with Golden Gun in Operation Void Edge, and with more planned beginning in Year 5, Season 3.”

More Rainbow Six Siege Year 5 news is expected in the coming days for PS4, Xbox One and PC gamers.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.