Home Science Solar eclipse timing: When will the Ring of Fire eclipse be visible...

Solar eclipse timing: When will the Ring of Fire eclipse be visible in YOUR area?

June 21 solar eclipse times:

Regions in the path of visibility include the Democratic Republic of the Congo, Central African Republic, South Sudan, Sudan, Ethiopia, the Red Sea, Yemen, Saudi Arabia, Oman, the Gulf of Oman, Pakistan, India, China, Taiwan, the Philippine Sea – south of Guam, northern Australia and the north Pacific Ocean.

The time of maximum eclipse, when the Ring of Fire phenomenon occurs, will be at 7.40am BST (2.40am EDT) on Sunday.

This marks the time the Moon crosses into the centre of the Sun, from Earth’s perspective.

The eclipse starts at 4.45am GMT Sunday (11.45pm EDT Saturday).

- Advertisement -

READ MORE: Ring of Fire eclipse: How often does a solar eclipse happen?

Where in the world will the solar eclipse be visible?

Unfortunately for UK stargazers, the eclipse will see nothing out of the ordinary.

Instead, the path of the eclipse will begin in central Africa and travel over Saudi Arabia, northern India and southern China, before finishing in the Pacific Ocean.

Meanwhile, viewers in eastern Africa, the Middle East and southern Asia will be able to see a partial eclipse.

NASA’s Eclipse Website includes a helpful interactive map detailing exactly where the eclipse will be visible.

The US-based space agency said: “The northern and southern path limits are blue and the central line is red.

“You must be somewhere within the central path (between the blue lines) to see the annular phase of the eclipse.

“The eclipse is longest on the central line (in red).

“The yellow lines crossing the path indicate the time and position of maximum eclipse at 10-minute intervals.”

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Popular