Home Science SpaceX launch live stream: How to watch historic Crew Dragon Demo-2 launch...

SpaceX launch live stream: How to watch historic Crew Dragon Demo-2 launch LIVE

Demo-2 is consequently considered a milestone mission for re-establishing direct NASA access to the International Space Station (ISS).

Since the space shuttles retired in 2011, astronauts have been launching from Russian Soyuz capsules from Kazakhstan.

Wednesday’s historic space mission will take place from Kennedy Space Center’s legendary Launch Pad 39A.

Veteran NASA astronauts Bob Behnken and Doug Hurley will be carried inside the SpaceX Crew Dragon capsule.

READ MORE: Richard Branson’s Virgin Orbit rocket launch fails in attempt

The launch will begin a 19-hour journey to the ISS orbiting 250 miles (400km) over Earth.

The astronauts will spend between one and four months living and working abroad ISS.

Coverage begins at 5pm BST (midday ET), with live feeds of the both the SpaceX Falcon 9 rocket and Crew Dragon capsule on the launch pad.

This kicks-off 26 hours of exhaustive coverage of the mission on NASA TV.

- Advertisement -

At 5.15pm BST (12.15pm EDT), a joint NASA and SpaceX broadcast of the launch will begin.

Space enthusiasts can expect commentary from Kennedy, NASA’s astronaut hub at Houston’s Johnson Space Center and the SpaceX headquarters in Hawthorne, California. Launch is scheduled for 4:33 p.m. EDT (2033 GMT).

A final news conference will round out the day at 11pm BST (6pm ET).

This will likely feature expert analysis from both NASA and SpaceX about the historic launch.

SpaceX Demo-2 launch schedule:

-45:00: SpaceX launch director verifies go for fuel propellant.

-42:00: Crew access arm retracts.

-37:00: Dragon’s launch escape system is armed.

-35:00: RP-1 rocket grade kerosene loading begins.

- Advertisement -

-35:00: First stage liquid oxygen loading begins.

-16:00: Second stage liquid oxygen loading begins.

-07:00: Falcon 9 begins engine chill prior to launch.

-05:00: Dragon transitions to internal power.

-01:00: Command flight to begin final prelaunch checks.

-01:00: Propellant tank pressurisation to flight pressure begins.

-00:45: SpaceX launch director verifies go for launch.

-00:03: Engine controller commands engine ignition sequence to start.

- Advertisement -

-00:00: SpaceX Falcon 9 liftoff.

DON’T MISS…
SpaceX Starlink: Exact times and dates to see Starlink [INSIGHT]
Space quiz questions and answer for your home quiz [QUIZ]
NASA unveils plan to stop a deadly virus from landing on Earth [INSIGHT]

- Advertisement -

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

- Advertisment -